Sun Network Channels and Group of Companies

Sun Network is a large network which is involved in number of businesses. Sun Network and group of companies is owned by Kalanithi Maran (Chairman and Managing Director), son of former MP Murasoli Maran. He is the nephew of former Tamilnadu Chief Minister M.Karunanidhi. Sun Network has thirty two channels in four different languages dominating the southern television channels. Channels are based on different genre such as movies, comedy, news, kids etc. Sun TV Network is Asia’s largest TV network. Channels are also aired in different countries such as U.S.A, Canada, Europe, Middle East, Singapore, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand.

The group also owns one of the top selling Tamil newspaper Dinakaran. Evening newspaper Tamil Murasu is also owned by the group. They own five magazines and a total of 45 FM radio stations across India, with seven stations in Tamilnadu and the rest spread across India. In Tamilnadu it is Suryan FM 93.5 MHZ and in the north it is Red FM. They are one of the largest radio broadcasters in India.

They also own  Sun Direct DTH along with Astro. Sun Direct were among the very few service providers to introduce HD channels in India.

The company acquired 37.7% of Spicejet airlines in 2010. The company also got involved in distribution and production of movies though Sun Pictures. Sun Pictures produced big budget movie Endhiran which was a blockbuster hit.

Sun Network - List of Channels:

Tamil Channels:

  1. Sun TV
  2. Sun TV HD
  3. KTV
  4. KTV HD
  5. Sun News
  6. Sun Music
  7. Sun Music HD
  8. Aadithya
  9. Chutti
  10. Sun Action
  11. Sun Life
  12. Sun TV RI


  1. Gemini TV
  2. Gemini TV HD
  3. Gemini Music
  4. Gemini Movies
  5. Gemini News
  6. Gemini Comedy
  7. Gemini Life
  8. Gemini Action
  9. Kushi TV


  1. Udaya TV
  2. Udaya Movies
  3. Udaya Music
  4. Udaya Comedy
  5. Udaya News
  6. Chintu TV
  7. Suriyan TV


  1. Surya TV
  2. Kiran TV
  3. Kochu TV
  4. Surya Action

Newspapers and Magazines:

  • Dinakaran
  • TamilMurasu
  • Kungumam
  • Mutharam
  • Vannathirai
  • Kumguma Chimizh
  • Kungumam Thozhi