Sun Network Buys Deccan Chargers Franchise

Kalanithi Maran
Add caption
Sun TV Network owned by Kalanithi Maran ha bought the Deccan Chargers IPL team. The Deccan Chargers franchise was terminated by the BCCI earlier this September. The SUN Group will pay 85.05 crore per year for ten years to the BCCI to own the franchise. This sum of approximately 850 crores is double the amount of the price the team was bought for in 2008(428 crores).

The new owners have the choice of retaining the team or buying out more players till October 31st. Deccan chargers have won the IPL once and the current set of key players include Dale Steyn, Kumar Sangakkara, JP Duminy, Cameron White and Ishant Sharma.